To delete your ICQ account, follow the simple procedure below;
- Copy and paste (web.icq.com) into your web browser
- You will be required to log into your ICQ account. Do so you using your registered email and password
- When you log in, go straight to “Settings.“
- On the Settings page, navigate to “Privacy.“
- Scroll down a little and select “Delete my account.“
- You will need to confirm account deletion via SMS.
- Enter the code and proceed to delete your ICQ account
After deleting your ICQ account, the phone number formerly linked to your profile will be unlinked immediately. Also, all correspondence, files, and data saved to your ICQ profile will be erased.
Moreover, you can also delete your ICQ account using the mobile app versions, and not necessarily the website only. In the next subheading, I will show you how you can delete your ICQ profile via the mobile versions.
How to delete an ICQ account on Android
If you are using the ICQ app version for the Android operating system, follow the procedure below to delete your account permanently;
- Open the ICQ app and ensure you are already logged in to your account
- Navigate to the “Settings” tab by tapping the gear icon
- On the new window, select “Privacy.“
- Scroll down to the bottom and tap “Delete account.“
- You will be redirected to a new window; tap “Send SMS.” A verification code will be sent to your registered ICQ phone number
- Enter the code and tap “Delete.“
How to delete an ICQ account on iOS
If you are using the iOS version of the ICQ app, follow the procedure below to delete your account from the system;
- Launch the ICQ app on your iOS device
- Log in to your ICQ account, either with SMS or a password
- Go to “Settings” by tapping the gear icon at the bottom right of the screen
- On the Settings window, select “Privacy.“
- On the “Privacy” page, scroll down and tap “Delete account.“
- After that, tap “send SMS.” You will receive a verification code on the phone number linked to your ICQ account
- Enter the code and tap “Delete” to proceed
How to delete your ICQ account on the Account closure page
If the other methods are not working for you, or you wish to try a new procedure, you can delete your ICQ account directly on the account closure page. To do so, follow the procedure below;
- Copy and paste this link into your browser (https://icq.com/login/en?dest=%2Fdelete-account%2F)
- If you are not logged into your account yet, you will have to log in first to access this page
- After accessing the page, click “Delete Account.“
- Next, request a verification code on your ICQ phone number
- Enter the verification code and delete your ICQ account
What happens after deleting your ICQ account?
You might wonder what happens next after deleting your ICQ account. Well, after deleting your ICQ account, you will lose access to your profile as well as every data information associated with it.
All conversations on the platform will be deleted, and you will no longer have access to it again. Deleting your account is a permanent action and cannot be reversed after it is done. A deleted account cannot be reactivated.
However, it is possible to reactivate your account if you have only deactivated it instead of deleting it permanently. You can easily deactivate your ICQ account via the mobile app or the web version.
Why is my ICQ account deactivated?
If you have not deactivated or requested deactivation of your ICQ account and find out it is not accessible, it might cause an alarm. ICQ has the right to deactivate users’ accounts, but with valid reasons.
As long as you use your ICQ account regularly, it will not get deactivated, and your data will remain. However, if your ICQ account stays inactive for up to a year, it will get deactivated by ICQ. You can get your profile back, though.
When your account gets deactivated, you will not lose the data and every other information linked to your ICQ profile. Instead, your account will just be paused and inaccessible for a while till you come back for it. Everything will remain intact.
Can I recover my deactivated ICQ account?
Definitely! If your account gets deactivated and you need to get back to it, you can simply reach out to ICQ support. Unfortunately, this is not an instant process, as it might take a while before they receive your request.
It is safer to ensure you keep your ICQ account active for as long as possible. Even if you do not need it regularly, you might just be logging in to your account at least every month, so it is not marked inactive.
Can I delete my phone number from my ICQ account?
Yes, you can delete your phone number from your ICQ account. If you are no longer using the registered phone number, you can disconnect it from your profile. However, you must replace the phone number you wish to delete.
Before you are allowed to delete the linked phone number, you must replace it with a valid and confirmed phone number. After doing this, you can delete the old number from your profile and continue using your ICQ account.
If you just want to register a new ICQ account, you don’t need to use a phone number to sign up. There is also an option to to create new accounts using your social media profiles.
If you also wish to delete your profiles from your ICQ account, you will have to replace them with a new social profile. However, if you no longer need the services of ICQ, you can go ahead and delete your account.