How To Delete Messages On Snapchat Without Them Knowing [EASY HACK!] 2022

Follow the procedure below to delete messages on Snapchat;

  • Open the Snapchat app. Ensure you are logged into your account
  • Swipe right to open your chats window
  • Open the conversation from which you want to delete a message
  • Long press the individual message that you wish to delete till a pop-up menu appears
  • From the menu, tap “Delete.”

Please bear in mind that you can only delete messages that you have sent following this method. Snapchat does not have a functionality that allows you to delete the messages sent by others in a conversation.

After pressing “Delete,” the selected message(s) will no longer appear in your conversation. However, the other person in the chat will be notified that you have deleted a message in your conversation.

There is a simple way to delete messages in your conversations without Snapchat telling them that you have deleted a message. I believe that is the main reason you are here. Without wasting much time, I’ll show you how to go about it.

How do I delete Snapchat messages without them knowing?

If you want to delete messages on Snapchat without the recipients knowing about it, there is a way to go about it, but the messages will not be cleared on the side of the recipients.

The conversation will only be deleted from your chats, which means only you will be unable to access it. They can still access the chats and view all the messages, even after you delete the whole conversation on your phone.

There are two ways to delete messages on Snapchat without them knowing;

  1. Via your Chat window
  2. Via your Profile Settings

That is, you can clear conversations on your Snapchat account from your chat window or profile settings. When you do this, your recipients will not know that you have deleted the conversations.

From the Chat Window

If you want to delete Snapchat conversations from your chat window without them knowing, follow the procedure below;

  • Open and start your Snapchat app
  • Swipe right to open your chat window
  • Locate and long press the chat you wish to delete
  • From the pop-up menu that appears, select “Chat Settings.
  • From the new menu, tap “Clear from Chat Feed.”
  • You will be prompted to confirm the deletion. To proceed, simply tap “Clear.

The chat will be cleared from your phone, and you will not see them in your chat window anymore. You can start a new conversation with them by searching their name on your friend list and messaging them.

From your Profile Settings

If you want to delete Snapchat conversations from your profile settings without them knowing, follow the procedure below;

  • Open Snapchat on your device
  • Tap your bitmoji at the top left corner of the screen to visit your profile
  • On your profile page, click the gear icon at the top right corner to access your profile settings
  • On the settings page, scroll down to “ACCOUNT ACTIONS.”
  • Click “Clear Conversation
  • On this page, you will find a list of everyone you have had conversations with. There will also be a (×) just in front of it
  • Tap the (×) icon next to the chat you wish to clear

Once again, deleting messages on your Snapchat via this method will only remove the conversation on your side. The chat on the recipient’s phone will remain intact and unaffected. However, they will not know you have deleted yours.

These are the only ways you can delete messages on Snapchat without them knowing. Probably in the future, Snapchat will introduce a feature that allows users to delete messages without their recipients getting notified of it.

What does Snapchat notify others about?

Snapchat is not as private as many people consider it to be. Speaking about messages, you cannot delete a message in a conversation without the other person knowing. Snapchat will send a notification to the other person about your action.

The only way you can delete messages on Snapchat without your recipients knowing about it or getting notified is to follow the procedure I explained above. Please bear in mind that you will be unable to recover these messages once you delete them too.

Another thing that Snapchat notifies other users about is screenshots. Once you take a screenshot of someone’s snap or your conversation with them, Snapchat will send them a notification of your action. So, it isn’t really private after all.

How do I prevent a message from being deleted?

If you wish to clear conversations on your Snapchat account, you should be aware that all the messages in the specified chat will be deleted. If there are snaps in the conversation, they will also be deleted.

However, you can hold on to a message in a chat and stop it from getting deleted when you use the clear chat option. This is known as saving messages. To do this, simply follow the procedure below;

  • Open your Snapchat app
  • Swipe left to open your Chat window
  • Open the chat where you wish to save a message or snap from being deleted
  • Long press on the text or snap and select “Save in Chat” after viewing

The message will be saved to your chat. Even if you delete all the conversations on your Snapchat, saved messages will not be deleted unless you come back to unsave them. To do so, simply follow the same procedure used for saving.

Wrapping Up

If you wish to delete your Snapchat messages without them knowing, you should simply follow the procedure described above. However, if you are not concerned about them knowing, you can delete them directly.

Furthermore, there is a new feature on Snapchat that allows users to set disappearing messages for chats. You can set how long you want a conversation to exist in your chat window. This is an automatic way of deleting messages without others knowing.

Was this article helpful?
YesNo