To delete your myQ account, follow the simple procedure below;
- Go directly to the myQ page
- Log in to your account using your registered email address and password
- Navigate to your Account page upon login
- Scroll down and select “Delete myQ account.“
- You will be prompted to confirm the action by filling out a form. The message will read, “permanently close your active myQ account only.”
- While you enter the needed information, also include your email address in the required box
- After filling out the form, click “Submit.“
After sending the request, your account might not be deleted immediately. However, you will receive an email that your request has been received, and a timeframe to delete your account will be stated in the email.
Can I delete myQ account via email?
Unfortunately, you can not delete your myQ account via email. The only procedure to delete your account is by logging in on the website and following the guidelines explained above. Asides from that, there is no other way.
Although it is possible that you might no longer have access to your account. If that is the case, there is a way to go about it. While you are about to log in to your myQ account, you will find a “forgot password” option just below.
Click the link and enter your registered myQ email address. If your email address is correct, a password reset link will be sent to you, and you will be able to create a new password for your myQ account.
After creating a new password, you can proceed to log in to your account. Then, following the procedure explained earlier, go ahead and delete your myQ account. If you no longer have access to your email, you might be unable to get back in.
How do I know if my account has been deleted?
As I mentioned earlier, it is not immediately after sending an account deletion request that your myQ profile will be deleted from the database. It might take a while, depending on the number of unresolved requests.
Once you send an account deletion request via the form within your profile, you will receive an email to your registered address notifying you that they have received your request. They will also include an estimated duration to process your request.
Once the process is completed, another email will be sent to you. However, this will be the last email you will receive from myQ, as your profile and other data on the system will be deleted.
The email you will receive this time around is to let you know that your request has been processed and your account deleted. Now, you can be rest assured that your myQ profile no longer exists.
To confirm this on your own, you should simply try to log back into your account. Use the same login credentials as before and see if you will be able to access your account. If you receive a message telling you “user does not exist,” your profile has been deleted.
However, if you are still able to log in, then there is something off somewhere. If you notice this, simply make another account deletion request via your profile and wait for an email from the customer support team.
Why should you delete your myQ account?
Deleting your myQ account is not usually compulsory, but it all depends on what you accept and how long you can. For example, myQ collects a whole lot of information about to open and keep your account running for as long as whenever.
This information is basically collected to improve user experience but might be at risk of cyber attacks. When hackers attack these servers, they stand a chance of accessing your profile and data, and information, thereby intruding on your privacy.
Your data could be used for some fraudulent activities or even sold out to people who might begin to send you spam emails. If you want to prevent all of these, the best thing is to delete your account as soon as possible.
I have also heard of people deleting their accounts because of spam emails. I am confident that myQ does not send spam emails but only sends emails when they are necessary. However, if you still find this disturbing, there is an alternative for you.
Instead of deleting your account to stop these emails finally, you can simply unsubscribe to stop receiving them. To unsubscribe, you will find an option below the email, click the link and enter your registered email address.
After entering your email address, you should get a notification that you have successfully unsubscribed from myQ emails. From then, you should no longer receive any email from myQ, even if you will still be able to access your account profile.
Is deleting myQ account the same as canceling my subscription?
Please have in mind that deleting your myQ account is quite different from canceling your subscription; in fact, they are two different things. By deleting your account, you are erasing your information from the myQ servers.
Your profile data and other linked information will be cleared once you delete your myQ account. Canceling a subscription on your myQ account is a different terminology I will explain now.
By canceling a subscription on your myQ account, you are stopping services and payments running on your account. Canceling a subscription also turns off the auto renewal of some purchases you might have made on the account.
It is no longer news that myQ offers a 7-day free trial to check out some of its services and features. If you wish to try out these features, you can create a myQ account and activate the free plan with a payment method.
However, if you are not satisfied with the platform after your free trial, you can proceed to cancel your subscription and possibly delete your account. All you have to do is follow the simple procedure I have described above.