How To Delete Nest Video [Solved] 2022

To delete Nest Video history, follow the procedure below;

  • Open the Nest video app on your device
  • Select your camera
  • Navigate to “Settings” via the gear icon
  • Scroll to the bottom and select “Delete video history.
  • You will be prompted to confirm by tapping “Delete history” once again

After confirmation, every video history on your camera will be erased permanently. This removal will also include snapshots and any other thing that has been covered by the camera. Deleted items are unrecoverable.

How to delete Nest video on the Google Home app

You can delete your Nest video history on the Nest app and the Google Home app. Although a lot of users are quite familiar with deleting on the Nest app, you can as well go about it on the Home app.

To delete Nest video on the Google Home app, follow the procedure below;

  • Open the Google Home app on your Android device
  • Press and hold the background of the app on your phone
  • From the menu, open “Settings” via the gear icon
  • On the Settings menu, tap “Delete video history.
  • To confirm, you will be prompted to tap “Delete.”

After you tap delete and confirm the action, all of your camera’s video history, as well as the snapshots, will be deleted from your camera. Moreover, the deletion is permanent, and you can not recover any deleted item.

Things to know before deleting your Nest video history

Before you go ahead to delete your Nest video history, there are some things you should note and always have in mind. These things are also applicable if you wish to delete your doorbell’s video history. They include;

  • By deleting your video history, you agree to erase your video history and snapshots that have been recorded on your Nest app up to the point of deletion. Other activities will be saved unless you turn the feature off
  • Also, it is impossible to recover your Nest video history after you confirm to delete them. If you believe that you will need them later in the future, you should not proceed with the action. Nest does not keep backups
  • Also, deleting your Nest video history will only affect the camera you have selected. This means that you must select a camera before you delete its snapshots and video history. Other cameras will have their video history intact
  • If you wish to have one or more video clips around for future use, you should save the useful parts first before you go ahead with deletion. Deleting the video history without saving these parts will result in permanent loss

Most of the homes using the Nest video app make use of a Nest Aware subscription for more premium features. However, if you do not have a Nest Aware subscription and want to stop getting activity snapshots, you can turn them off.

Usually, every user with or without a Nest Aware subscription will get activity snapshots in their camera’s video history. These snapshots can become spam when they begin to enter in multiples, thereby crowding up your video history.

In return, this will need you to frequently delete your Nest video history. If you wish to stop this, the only way to go about that is by turning these snapshots off. Let’s see how to do that.

How to turn off Activity history snapshots

Receiving activity history snapshots are turned on by default, and every user of the Nest video app will get them. Either for your camera or doorbell, the activity history is usually turned on. There is something you should know.

By turning activity history off, you erase all current snapshots on your Nest video history and also prevent new snapshots from appearing in the Nest video app. That is, you will no longer receive snapshots when you turn this off.

If you have enabled emails or alert notifications for your camera, you will continue to get these snapshots unless you disable them. Please have in mind that the instructions are only applicable to Nest cameras that were initially set up and managed within the Nest app.

If you have used any other camera footage app to set up and manage these cameras, then you have no business with this. The option to turn off activity snapshots will be available only if you don’t have a Nest Aware subscription.

To turn off activity snapshots, follow the procedure below;

  • Open the Nest app on your device
  • Pick the camera you wish to turn off the feature for
  • Navigate to Settings via the gear icon
  • Select “Activity History
  • You will find the button to disable activity history snapshots. Tap it to disable them

Once again, you will only find this option if you do not have a Nest Aware subscription. No premium user will be able to turn this feature off, as it is automatic and can not be turned off. Only users without a subscription can do so.

Please have in mind that turning activity history off for one of your cameras will also disable activity history for any camera that you set up and manage on the Nest app. Cameras that have existed originally will still receive snapshots unless you turn the feature off.

Wrapping Up

Truth be told, having a Nest Aware subscription can be a disadvantage due to the regular sending of activity snapshots and emails. It makes it difficult to find random videos and footage as a result of its rowdiness.

Only users who do not have a Nest Aware subscription will be able to turn this feature off. When you turn off activity snapshots, the only thing you will have in your Nest video history are video files. You can delete this history whenever you wish.

Was this article helpful?
YesNo