How To Delete Shutterstock Account [Solved] 2022

Follow the procedure below to delete your Shutterstock account;

  • Log in to your Shutterstock account. You can do this with the registered email address and password
  • When you log in, proceed to the Shutterstock customer support contact page. Here, you will be required to fill out a contact form
  • Enter the required information in the designated spaces. Ensure your full name is written
  • You will also be asked to enter the email address linked to your Shutterstock account
  • From the drop-down menu, select “Delete your account.
  • In the message box, write a brief reason for your account deletion request.

How to delete my Shutterstock account via email

You can choose to delete your account by signing into your profile first or via the email linked to your account. If you have forgotten the password to your Shutterstock account, you can make use of this technique to delete your account.

The only issue about deleting your account via email is that it takes longer time than doing it yourself within your profile. Nevertheless, it is still a great way to delete your account if you run out of options.

To delete your Shutterstock account via email, follow the procedure below;

  • Open the email app on your phone and ensure you are signed into the email attached to your Shutterstock profile
  • Proceed to compose a message
  • In the recipient’s box, type support@shutterstock.com
  • The subject of your email should be “REQUEST TO DELETE MY ACCOUNT.
  • You can proceed to write a short reason for your request and also provide some details about your Shutterstock account. (DO NOT INCLUDE YOUR PASSWORD)
  • When you are done, hit the “SEND” button

As I mentioned earlier, it might take a little while before they get back to you, but they certainly will. After they process your request and delete your account, they will reach out to you, notifying you of the action. You can try to log in and confirm for yourself.

Can I delete my Shutterstock account?

Perhaps you have tried to delete your account following the procedure above, but it isn’t working; you might have thought it impossible to delete your Shutterstock profile. Let’s find out whether you can even delete your account.

Of course, everybody can delete their Shutterstock accounts. Yes, everyone with a Shutterstock profile can delete it if they wish to do so. However, it all depends on the time you are making the request. That is, the timing is important.

Shutterstock offers free plans and some paid plans. For the paid plans, users make subscriptions that last for a particular period. During this period, they enjoy premium services and features that are not available on free plans.

If you have an active plan, you can not delete your account. Do not get me wrong; you can delete your account, but not at the time of your subscription. Your subscription has to end before you will be able to delete your account.

Therefore, you must wait until your plan expires before you submit a request to delete your Shutterstock account. Shutterstock has no feature that allows users to cancel their subscription in order to delete their accounts; you must wait till it expires.

On the contrary, if you use a free account or do not have an active plan, you can proceed with deleting your account by following the guidelines I have described previously. I believe you should no longer have any issues after doing so.

What if I’m still having issues deleting my account?

The only issue you should have with deleting your Shutterstock profile is if you have an active plan. As I mentioned, it is impossible to delete your account during this time, as there is no option to cancel your subscription.

If you wait until your subscription expires and you are still facing difficulty deleting your account, then there is something else wrong. Well, it could be that your plan has been renewed automatically without you knowing about it.

If this is the case, you will have to wait until that plan expires. However, you should make sure to turn off auto-renewal, so you do not get delayed any longer. After doing this, I believe the deletion should go smoothly.

However, if you still have issues after all of these, the best thing is to reach out to customer support. You can either write to them requesting account deletion directly or ask why you are unable to delete it from your account.

What happens after I delete my Shutterstock profile?

So what happens when you delete your Shutterstock account? Well, let’s find out. First, you will lose access to your profile. That is, your profile will be deleted from Shutterstock’s server, and you will be unable to log in.

If you have no downloading history on your account, all personal data will be removed from the system. On the other hand, if you had previously licensed content from Shutterstock on your account, it will be deleted.

However, Shutterstock will have to retain some of these data even after you delete your account. The data retained is for security purposes and can not be accessed by you any longer, even if you request it.

Also, have in mind that you will lose access to your remaining downloads on Shutterstock once you delete your account. Your licensing history will also be erased and can not be recovered.

Wrapping Up

Once again, you should be aware that you can not recover any data or download history on Shutterstock after you delete your account. If you want to be quick with deleting your profile, you should do so within your profile instead of sending an email.

Was this article helpful?
YesNo